Manually updating servers when Windows Update is controlled by GPO

SYS-Admin

I recently provisioned some new servers at a client site, these were the first Windows 2008 R2 servers and because of this WSUS did not have any updates downloaded for them.

As I mistakenly forgot to install relevant Windows Updates before I joined the computers to the domain I then had trouble trying to update the servers because Windows stated that:

Windows Update cannot currently check for updates, because updates on this computer are currently controlled by your system administrator

In order to bypass this I temporarily disabled my Server WSUS group policy and this removed the registry settings specifying my update targets etc… (for more information on these registry settings and using GPO for configuring WSUS clients please see Microsoft KB328010)

However I was still unable to run manual updates, after some more rummaging I found the following key

HKCUSoftwareMicrosoftWindowsCurrentVersionPoliciesExplorerNoWindowsUpdate

When I set the above Dword to 0…

View original post 63 more words

Leave a Reply

